
Bunkerhill Health
B2B enterprise software sold to health systems. Carebricks is the substrate — integration, governance, monitoring, safeguards — and agents are the units of value: clinical (coronary calcium detection on an FDA-cleared algorithm, lung nodule, nephrology triage) and operational. Pricing is NOT disclosed: no per-agent, per-seat, per-study or subscription figure has been published by the company or any source found. The engine differs from a per-study diagnostic vendor's in one decisive way — Bunkerhill does not bill Medicare. The hospital bills G0680; Bunkerhill sells the software that makes it able to. Reimbursement is the SALES ARGUMENT, not the revenue line.
Earnings, margins, COGS & capex
Bunkerhill is the cleanest available test of a proposition the QAI healthcare board keeps reaching from the other direction: the binding constraint in clinical AI is not model quality but that almost nothing gets deployed, governed and paid for. The founding story is literally that — co-founders David Eng and Nishith Khandwala built a coronary-calcium algorithm at Stanford (npj Digital Medicine 4:88, 2021, DOI 10.1038/s41746-021-00460-1) and in Khandwala's telling it 'went nowhere', including at Stanford, until his father had a heart attack with the calcium signal it was built to detect (Sequoia, 16 Jul 2026). Traction evidence is deployment-shaped rather than dollar-shaped, and that is the honest state of it: 15 health systems including Cleveland Clinic, Mayo Clinic, Ballad Health, Intermountain Health, Sentara Health, Endeavor Health and UTMB Health (Fortune, 16 Jul 2026), with 20+ agents live at UTMB alone. What separates it from the crowded agent-platform cohort is the three hardest, least fashionable pieces of work: its own FDA clearances, a randomised trial of the flagship use case, and a national payment code — HCPCS G0680, effective 1 April 2026, so the hospital can bill for the analysis the cardiovascular agent performs. The third achievement is also, precisely, the bear case. G0680 sits in APC 1492, a New Technology APC, and it is a SERVICE code, not a company code: HeartLung.AI publicly welcomed the same coverage, and Coreline Soft and Riverain Tech already market ROI material against it. Bunkerhill ran the regulatory gauntlet and every vendor with a cleared CAC algorithm walks through the gate behind it — the shape canon documents for Cleerly and CPT 75577 (PB-039-watchlist-cleerly / REG-CPT-003), recurring in a second, independent instance.
Revenue trend
Margins
enterprise-software-shaped, weighed down by per-system integration labour and usage-scaling inference
FDA function, trial participation and the CMS code process are fixed costs carried ahead of revenue
equity-funded; $25M closed Jul 2026, no burn or runway disclosed
COGS structure
Three components, and the middle one is the business-model question. (1) Inference — LLM tokens and GPU cycles for the agent layer plus per-study imaging inference. A genuine variable cost scaling with agent usage rather than seats: an agent running on every chest CT consumes compute on every chest CT. Worse than seat-based SaaS, better than per-study send-out. (2) Integration and implementation labour — connecting Carebricks to the EHR, PACS/VNA, departmental systems and identity, then validating each agent against that site's data and workflow. Simultaneously the product, the moat and the COGS line: what customers pay for is exactly what is expensive to deliver, and it decides whether this is a software company or a services company in a platform's clothes. No disclosed metric — gross margin, implementation weeks, revenue per implementation FTE — settles it, and that is the largest financial gap here. (3) Clinical, regulatory and safety overhead — per-agent validation, monitoring, drift detection and the FDA quality system. Does not fall with compute prices; rises with agent count, not customer count.
Capex
Immaterial. No owned imaging fleet, no disclosed data centres; compute is cloud opex. The capital-intensive assets in this chain — CT scanners, PACS, the EHR — belong to the customer or to GE HealthCare / Siemens Healthineers / Canon Medical / Philips / Epic / Oracle.
Latest earnings
n/a
None. Company-side directional signals only, all from the 16 July 2026 cycle: $55M total funding; 15 health systems; 'We have more than 20 AI agents live on Carebricks at UTMB' (Dr. Peter McCaffrey, UTMB Chief AI Officer); CEO Nishith Khandwala's 'Medicine has advanced faster than our healthcare system's ability to operationalize it'; Vinod Khosla's 'The bottleneck in healthcare AI was never the technology, it was getting a health system to actually run it.'
- Series B
- $25M led by Khosla Ventures (Fortune, 16 Jul 2026). The company's own release does not state the round size separately
- Cumulative funding
- $55M across Seed, Series A and Series B (Bunkerhill / Business Wire, 16 Jul 2026). Headlined 'Raises $55 Million' — cumulative, not new money
- Seed
- $6.5M led by Sequoia Capital, 2023 (Fortune). Series A amount not separately disclosed by any source found
- Post-money valuation
- NOT disclosed at any round. No negotiated mark is public and none may be inferred from round size
- Health systems on Carebricks
- 15 (Fortune, 16 Jul 2026) — Cleveland Clinic, Mayo Clinic, Ballad Health, Intermountain Health, Sentara Health, Endeavor Health and UTMB Health named
- Agents live at the deepest account
- 'more than 20' (company, UTMB CAIO quote); 22 (Fortune). Both 16 Jul 2026 — carry the range
- Revenue growth
- '20x' / '20-fold' trailing year, trade-reported, no base, no on-record company attribution
- HCPCS G0680
- Status indicator S, APC 1492 (New Technology APC), effective 1 Apr 2026 — verified verbatim at CMS Transmittal R13702CP Table 7 / MLN MM14380
- G0680 payment rate
- ~$15.50 national unadjusted as reported in vendor commentary (Coreline Soft). NOT verified at CMS primary here
- FDA clearances (named and dated)
- BMD, 510(k), 10 Apr 2025 · MAC, 8 Oct 2025 · Contrast CAC and Contrast AVC, announced 15 Apr 2026. 'Nine clinical FDA-cleared AI algorithms' (Fortune) is reported, not file-verified
- Randomised evidence
- NOTIFY-PICTURE / NCT05588895 — Stanford-sponsored, SINGLE site, open-label, 202 randomised of 6,188 screened; statin prescription at 6 months 44 (44%) vs 10 (9.8%), p<0.001; effect confined to patients without ASCVD (47% vs 6%) and absent in those with ASCVD (29% vs 31%, p-interaction=0.003)
- Founded / origin
- Founders Nishith 'Nish' Khandwala (CEO) and David Eng, out of Stanford's Center for AI in Medicine & Imaging (AIMI); Y Combinator S20. Founding year is inconsistently reported — Fortune says 2019, the YC batch is Summer 2020, one aggregator says 2022; carry the range, not one date
Growth drivers
- Land-and-expand inside the account — UTMB went from one agent in production to more than twenty across specialties (Sequoia, 16 Jul 2026). Twenty agents at one system is a different revenue shape from twenty systems with one agent each — expansion runs where integration cost is already sunk
- HCPCS G0680, effective 1 Apr 2026, turns the cardiovascular agent from cost centre into revenue line for the buyer. CMS Transmittal R13702CP Table 7 assigns status indicator S in APC 1492 for 'detection and quantification of coronary artery calcium and/or aortic valve calcification from algorithmic analysis of computed tomography of the chest with report'
- Randomised evidence almost no clinical-AI vendor has — NOTIFY-PICTURE randomised 202 of 6,188 screened patients at Stanford, finding statin prescriptions in 44 (44%) of the notification arm vs 10 (9.8%) of usual care at six months (p<0.001)
- An FDA-cleared portfolio in opportunistic findings — Contrast CAC and Contrast AVC (15 Apr 2026, positioned as the first cleared to quantify coronary and aortic valve calcium on contrast-enhanced, routine non-gated chest CT), MAC (8 Oct 2025) and BMD (510(k), 10 Apr 2025, non-contrast abdominal CT). Fortune's 'nine clinical FDA-cleared AI algorithms' is carried as reported, not file-verified
- Marquee references as distribution — Cleveland Clinic, Mayo, Intermountain and UTMB de-risk the eleventh and twelfth sale. Where the buyer's first question is 'who else runs this in production', reference density compounds faster than feature velocity
- Optum Ventures on the cap table (Series B, with Khosla, Sequoia, Felicis, Y Combinator) is a relationship with the largest US payer-provider organisation and a route to a channel no sales headcount buys
- Opportunistic screening as a category — actionable disease found on a scan already acquired and already billed is one of very few clinical-AI use cases whose ROI accrues to the provider's own collected revenue — downstream cardiology, echo, DEXA, statin management, procedures
Bull & bear
Every measurement the QAI healthcare board has made says the same thing: the models work and nothing gets deployed or paid for. Bunkerhill is the only name in this set attacking both halves at once — a governance substrate that has demonstrably scaled to 20+ live agents inside one health system, plus its own FDA clearances, a randomised trial behind the flagship use case, and its own CMS billing code so the buyer can bill for the output. It reached Cleveland Clinic, Mayo, Intermountain and UTMB on $55M cumulative, against peers who raised ten to twenty times that.
- It owns all four layers the board says are required, where most competitors own one or two: a cleared algorithm (Contrast CAC / Contrast AVC / MAC / BMD), randomised clinical evidence (NOTIFY-PICTURE), a deployment and governance substrate that survives contact with a health system's IT estate, and a payment identity (HCPCS G0680)
- The expansion curve is the asset, not the customer count. UTMB going from one agent to more than twenty means integration was paid for once and the incremental agent rides nearly free. Fifteen systems on that trajectory is a compounding revenue shape; fifteen running one pilot each is not — and the UTMB datum is the evidence for the former
- The randomised result is unusually strong for this sector and the right shape: 44% statin prescribing vs 9.8% under usual care at six months (p<0.001) is a large absolute effect on a guideline-recommended therapy, and the concentration in patients without established ASCVD (47% vs 6%) is exactly where opportunistic primary-prevention screening should work
- Opportunistic screening is one of very few clinical-AI use cases whose ROI lands in the provider's own collected revenue rather than depending on a payer to fund software. A calcium score found on a chest CT already acquired and already billed generates downstream cardiology, echo, DEXA and statin management — the board's own test for a durable payer, and this passes it
- Capital efficiency is genuinely differentiating: $55M cumulative to reach this customer list, against roughly $1.06B across Abridge's announced rounds and nearly $700M raised by OpenEvidence in twelve months (board canon). Getting to Cleveland Clinic and Mayo on Series-B money means unusually low CAC or unusually strong pull
- It is a coherent acquisition target with a scarce asset. A governance layer with live multi-agent deployments at named systems, four-plus dated FDA clearances, randomised evidence and an owned CMS code is what an imaging OEM, an EHR vendor, a payer or a diversified health-IT platform would rather buy than build — and unlike a per-study diagnostic, its value survives the acquirer's own roadmap
Bunkerhill's most impressive achievement is also the clearest statement of its problem. It spent years driving CMS to establish a national code for algorithmic calcium analysis, and what it won is a SERVICE code in a low-band New Technology APC that any vendor with a cleared algorithm can bill — HeartLung.AI has already welcomed the same coverage and Coreline Soft is already marketing against it. Beneath that sits a company with no disclosed revenue, no pricing, no valuation, $55M cumulative against Aidoc's $150M single round and 150+ health systems, and a buyer running a 2.5% median operating margin — while Epic, on 56.9% of US hospital beds, has started shipping the agents itself.
- The code is non-excludable and low-band. G0680 describes the service, not Bunkerhill's product, in APC 1492 — one band above APC 1491's $0–$10 Level 1A floor. HeartLung.AI welcomed the coverage; Coreline Soft and Riverain market ROI calculators against it. Bunkerhill paid; the category collects. This is canon's Cleerly finding recurring exactly (PB-039-watchlist-cleerly / REG-CPT-003)
- New Technology APCs are transitional by design and the precedent is documented at primary. Viz.ai's ContaCT was the first AI software granted a Medicare NTAP, at $1,040 max per case in the FY2021 IPPS final rule, extended once for FY2022, and appearing ZERO times in the FY2023 final rule (REG-NTAP-001/002). CMS has separately pre-committed to routing new SaMS analyses into New Technology APCs (REG-CMS-010). A rate held by discretion can be released by discretion
- There is no revenue figure — not a small one, not a stale one, none. The '20x' is a trade-press ratio with no base, no vintage and no on-record attribution, and the two outlets carrying it relay the same announcement. With no pricing model and no gross margin, an outside reader cannot distinguish a $2M business from a $20M one, and that difference is the entire investment question
- The randomised evidence does less work than the headline. NOTIFY-PICTURE is a SINGLE-site Stanford trial, open-label, 202 randomised from 6,188 screened, with a prescribing process outcome rather than a cardiovascular one — and the effect vanishes in patients who already have ASCVD (29% vs 31%, p-interaction=0.003). Both founders are Bunkerhill employees per the disclosures and a senior co-author holds equity. It bounds the value proposition to primary prevention in a narrow screened funnel
- Epic is the structural threat and not one Bunkerhill can out-execute: 43.7% of US acute-care hospitals, 56.9% of beds, AI Charting GA 4 Feb 2026, Penny at 200+ organisations, Art at 16M uses a month. A deployment layer whose value is 'we connect your AI to your EHR' is a feature the EHR vendor can absorb — and Oracle Health has extended its own Clinical AI Agent to 30 specialties with automatic order drafting
- $55M cumulative is small money in this fight and the round says so. Aidoc alone raised $150M in April 2026 and runs at 150+ health systems with a cleared foundation model and an operating-system layer of its own; Microsoft, NVIDIA and Commure are resourced at another order of magnitude again. And no post-money was disclosed, so there is not even a mark to argue about
What it is worth
No valuation is carried, by decision and by necessity. Bunkerhill is private and no post-money has been disclosed at ANY round — not the 2023 Sequoia-led $6.5M seed, not the undisclosed Series A, not the July 2026 $25M Series B — so there is not even a stale negotiated mark to stamp with a date, a weaker information position than a private peer with a published round price. A valuation must NOT be inferred from the round or the $55M cumulative; raise size is not a price. What can be framed is the economic envelope, and it has an unusual feature worth stating precisely: Bunkerhill does not bill Medicare. The hospital bills HCPCS G0680; Bunkerhill sells the software that lets it. Reimbursement is the sales argument, not the revenue line — so revenue is enterprise-software revenue at an undisclosed price, and the code's rate matters only through the buyer's ROI calculation. That calculation is volume-driven: at the ~$15.50 national unadjusted rate reported in vendor commentary (NOT verified at CMS primary here), a system running on the order of 50,000 eligible chest CTs a year would gross roughly $0.8M of G0680 revenue before wage-index adjustment, coverage limits and the eligible-scan share — arithmetic on a relayed rate, for scale only, not a company claim, not a CMS figure and not a forecast. The honest output of this dossier is not a number: the two quantities that would make one possible — revenue and price per customer — are both undisclosed, and the third, the post-money, does not exist in public.
The deployment layer is a feature, not a company. Epic absorbs the governance and orchestration surface for its 56.9% of US beds, Aidoc's CARE plus aiOS takes the imaging-AI substrate above Bunkerhill's weight class on ten times the capital, and the G0680 code Bunkerhill created becomes the standard every cleared CAC vendor bills — HeartLung.AI, Coreline Soft and Riverain are already there. CMS does to G0680 what it did to the first AI NTAP: transitional payment, then retirement (REG-NTAP-002 — $1,040 max per case in FY2021, one extension, ZERO appearances in FY2023). A 2.5%-margin buyer declines to expand the IT line, agent counts plateau at pilot depth outside the flagship accounts, and the randomised evidence proves narrower than hoped once it leaves a single Stanford cohort and a primary-prevention population. The 20x decays hard as the base grows. With $55M cumulative against competitors at ten to twenty times that, the outcome is an acqui-hire or a modest trade sale — and because no post-money was ever disclosed, there is not even a down-round to observe, only a private mark that never becomes a print.
A real, well-executed company in a category whose ceiling is set by someone else. Growth continues off a small base — the 20x directionally true, the absolute number modest — and the customer list deepens without the step-change a platform thesis requires. G0680 works as a permit rather than pricing power: volume grows, competitors bill the same code, and the New Technology APC assignment holds without becoming material to anyone's P&L. Integration stays semi-bespoke, so gross margin lands between software and services and the sales cycle stays measured in quarters. Epic ships more native agents and takes the commodity use cases; Aidoc's foundation model takes the broad imaging coverage; Bunkerhill retains the specialised, clearance-backed, evidence-backed ones. It raises again privately at a mark that is negotiated rather than discovered, and the value question stays unresolved because nothing forces a price.
Deployment turns out to be the real bottleneck and the substrate is the thing worth owning. Agent counts across the other fourteen systems converge on the UTMB pattern, so revenue compounds inside accounts where integration cost is already sunk, and gross margin climbs as integration templatises. The FDA portfolio widens across opportunistic findings, each clearance becoming a new agent for an installed base that already bought the substrate, and the NOTIFY-PICTURE result pulls guideline and payer attention toward AI-detected incidental CAC. G0680 volume ramps through the lung-cancer-screening LDCT population, giving every health-system CFO a billable line to point at. Optum converts into a payer-side channel — the durable-payer mechanism the board's thesis says actually funds software margin. In this branch the shared code stops mattering because the moat was never the code; it was the twenty agents in production that a competitor would have to displace one at a time.
Framing, not a recommendation, and not investment advice. Bunkerhill does not currently appear in the QAI healthcare board's positions, opportunities or watchlist; this dossier stands up the company's page and does not assert a board position that has not been taken. The connection is at the thesis level and runs both ways. The board's call is to 'own only the businesses whose payer is pharma's commercial budget or the provider's own collected revenue' — and opportunistic screening funded by downstream cardiology, echo and DEXA volume is a genuine instance of the second category, now with randomised evidence that the notification step changes prescribing. Against it, the board's measured reality: the flagship AI-cardiac OPPS channel was worth $76,990.50 nationally in CY2024 (REG-OPPS-010), the buyer's median calendar-YTD operating margin was 2.5% in April 2026 (CM-KH-01), and reimbursement pathways for AI are levelled across all comers rather than owned — CPT 75577 shared by three vendors at an identical rate (PB-039-watchlist-cleerly / REG-CPT-003), and now G0680 available to every cleared CAC vendor. WHAT WOULD MAKE IT ASSESSABLE: a disclosed post-money at the next round, a company-stated revenue figure with a vintage, or a published pricing model. WHAT WOULD MAKE IT INVESTABLE: an IPO, or a registered secondary creating a tradeable mark — and per the board's standing deployment discipline, a private-turned-listed name is sized at 3–5% only on the FIRST print that discloses the relevant revenue line separately, never on listing day. A trade sale into a large diversified acquirer would dilute the asset to noise and would not qualify. US-first throughout; no mainland-China listing is contemplated or recommended.
SWOT
Strengths
- Aimed at the correct bottleneck. The board's own measurement is that clinical AI fails on the money and deployment paths, not accuracy — the three flagship AI cardiac services generated 81 CY2024 Medicare OPPS claims worth $76,990.50 (canon REG-OPPS-010). Carebricks targets that gap, and 15 systems with 20+ agents at the deepest account is the evidence that counts
- Randomised outcome evidence, rare in this sector — NOTIFY-PICTURE found statin prescriptions of 44 (44%) in the notification arm vs 10 (9.8%) in usual care at six months, p<0.001 (Circulation; NCT05588895)
- Regulatory substance most agent-platform startups lack — its own FDA-cleared algorithms, with first-in-class positions in contrast-enhanced non-gated chest CT calcium quantification and mitral annular calcification. These are 510(k) CLEARANCES establishing substantial equivalence, not PMA approvals and not De Novo grants
- It authored its own payment identity — CMS established HCPCS G0680 effective 1 April 2026 (verified at CMS primary). Very few clinical-AI companies of any size have driven a national billing code to establishment
- Land-and-expand works. Once a system runs a fleet of agents on one governance substrate, the substrate is an operating dependency rather than a subscription — the one switching cost in clinical AI that is not a shared code someone else can bill
Weaknesses
- Nothing about the revenue line is knowable — no dollar figure at any vintage, no ARR, no pricing, no gross margin, no NRR — only a '20x' ratio with no base. A 20x on $250k and a 20x on $5M are different companies
- The code it won is non-excludable by construction. G0680 describes the SERVICE: HeartLung.AI publicly welcomed the same coverage; Coreline Soft and Riverain Tech market ROI material against it. Bunkerhill bore the cost, the category collects the benefit
- APC 1492 is a New Technology APC — the discretionary bucket, one band above APC 1491's $0–$10 Level 1A floor. A low-band transitional assignment, and CMS has pre-committed to routing new software-as-a-medical-service analyses into these APCs (canon REG-CMS-010)
- The randomised evidence is thinner than the headline — SINGLE site (Stanford), open-label, 202 randomised from 6,188 screened, a prescribing process outcome rather than a cardiovascular one, and no effect in patients who already had ASCVD (29% vs 31%). Both founders are listed as Bunkerhill employees in the disclosures and a senior co-author holds equity
- Its buyer is the least able buyer in enterprise software — median hospital calendar-YTD operating margin 2.5% incl. corporate allocations in April 2026 across >1,300 hospitals, 26–99-bed cohort at −11.5% (canon CM-KH-01 / CM-KH-05)
Opportunities
- Agent-count expansion inside the existing 15 systems is the highest-return growth available: integration cost sunk, substrate live, incremental agent close to pure margin. Twenty-plus at UTMB is the template for the other fourteen
- G0680 is a wedge into every system running high-volume chest CT — most obviously lung-cancer-screening LDCT, where one acquisition now supports both the lung read and a billable cardiovascular assessment. Category creation with no new scan, order or visit
- The opportunistic-findings franchise generalises — bone density on abdominal CT, mitral annular calcification, any other actionable finding recoverable from imaging a system already owns. Each clearance is a new agent for an installed base that already bought the substrate
- Optum Ventures opens a channel into the largest US payer-provider organisation. Payer-side and value-based-care demand for opportunistic risk stratification is a different budget from a hospital IT line — potentially the correct-payer mechanism the board calls the only durable one
- Consolidation is plausible and Bunkerhill is a coherent target — a governance layer with real FDA clearances, randomised evidence and an owned CMS code is what an imaging incumbent, an EHR vendor, a payer or a diversified health-IT platform would rather buy than build
Threats
- Epic. 43.7% of US acute-care hospitals in 2025, 56.9% of beds, AI Charting GA from 4 Feb 2026, Penny at 200+ organisations, Art at 16M uses a month (board canon). Epic is not a tollbooth taking rent from AI vendors — it is a distribution owner that has started selling the AI itself, at exactly the integration point Bunkerhill must pass through
- Aidoc runs the identical strategy with an order of magnitude more resources: 34 FDA authorisations on canon's basis, its CARE foundation model cleared Jan 2026 as what it calls healthcare's first comprehensive foundation-model triage solution (11 new plus 3 existing indications in one workflow), delivered through the aiOS operating system, $150M raised Apr 2026, 150+ health systems
- The Viz.ai precedent for payment-pathway decay, verified at primary in canon: ContaCT was the first AI software granted a Medicare NTAP, at $1,040 max per case in the FY2021 IPPS final rule, extended once for FY2022, and appearing ZERO times in the FY2023 final rule (REG-NTAP-001/002)
- The integration layer may not templatise. If each system's Epic build, PACS estate and governance committee makes deployment bespoke, gross margin stays services-shaped, the sales cycle stays long, and 'platform' is a story the unit economics do not support. No disclosed metric distinguishes the two futures
- Agent-governance regulation is unsettled. FDA's posture on adaptive, LLM-mediated clinical agents — as opposed to the locked 510(k)-cleared algorithms Bunkerhill holds — is still forming, and a platform selling 'deploy many agents fast' is exposed to any tightening that makes each agent a separately regulated device
Moats, dependencies & bottlenecks
Moats
Strong as a barrier to entry, zero as an exclusivity the code is national, the APC assignment is transitional Verified at CMS primary: status indicator S, APC 1492, effective 1 Apr 2026 (Transmittal R13702CP Table 7 / MLN MM14380). Establishing a national code is genuinely hard and Bunkerhill did it. But it is a SERVICE code — HeartLung.AI welcomed the same coverage and Coreline Soft and Riverain market against it — and APC 1492 is the transitional bucket CMS has pre-committed to expand (REG-CMS-010). Compare REG-NTAP-002: the first AI NTAP ran two fiscal years and vanished.
and rare real but narrow, and it attaches to the intervention rather than to Bunkerhill NOTIFY-PICTURE (Circulation, DOI 10.1161/CIRCULATIONAHA.125.078155; NCT05588895): 44 (44%) vs 10 (9.8%) statin prescriptions at six months, p<0.001. Very few clinical-AI vendors have any randomised evidence. The limits are equally real: single site, open-label, 202 randomised from 6,188 screened, a prescribing outcome, no effect in established ASCVD, and both founders listed as Bunkerhill employees in the disclosures. It also demonstrates that AI-detected-CAC notification works — a finding a competitor's cleared algorithm inherits for free.
BMD (510(k), 10 Apr 2025, non-contrast abdominal CT), MAC (8 Oct 2025, routine non-gated chest CT), Contrast CAC and Contrast AVC (15 Apr 2026, positioned as the first cleared for contrast-enhanced non-gated chest CT). Fortune's 'nine clinical FDA-cleared AI algorithms' is carried as reported and NOT verified against the FDA AI-Enabled Medical Device List, so it must not be placed on canon's REG-FDA-018 leaderboard, which is a single-basis parse of the FDA file. All are 510(k) CLEARANCES — substantial equivalence — not PMA approvals or De Novo grants, and first-in-class clearance confers no exclusivity.
Medium-strong where it exists High inside an account, unproven across the base The strongest moat here and the least visible. Twenty-plus live agents at UTMB makes Carebricks an operating dependency: removing it means re-validating, re-integrating and re-governing every one. The unknown is whether that depth exists beyond one or two flagship accounts — no source discloses the agent-count distribution across the other fourteen systems, and fifteen accounts with one pilot each would carry almost none of this.
Cleveland Clinic, Mayo Clinic, Intermountain, Sentara, Ballad, Endeavor and UTMB (Fortune, 16 Jul 2026). Production references at named academic centres are the primary de-risking asset in health-system sales. They are rentable rather than owned: a competitor can win the same logo for a different use case, and Aidoc already reports 150+ health systems including Mount Sinai, Yale New Haven and Northwell.
optionality rather than moat Optum Ventures participated in the Series B alongside Khosla, Sequoia, Felicis and Y Combinator. A relationship with the UnitedHealth family is a potential distribution channel and a potential route to the payer budget the board considers durable — but no commercial agreement, pilot or revenue arrangement has been disclosed, so it should not be scored as a moat until something is announced.
Dependencies
Distribution chokepoint and emerging competitor Every Carebricks agent must read from and write into the EHR to change clinical behaviour. Epic holds 43.7% of US acute-care hospitals and 56.9% of beds (board canon) and has begun selling AI natively — AI Charting GA 4 Feb 2026, Penny at 200+ organisations, Art at 16M uses a month. Its toll on vendors is negligible (Vendor Services ~$1,700–1,900/yr, Connection Hub ~$500/yr, USCDI read APIs free under the Cures Act), so the risk is not rent extraction but substitution by the party that owns the surface.
Determines the buyer's ROI argument Bunkerhill does not bill Medicare; the hospital does. But the code's rate is the arithmetic behind the business case, and it sits in APC 1492. CMS has pre-committed to assigning new software-as-a-medical-service analyses to New Technology APCs for CY2027 and beyond (REG-CMS-010, verbatim from CMS-1850-P), and the Viz.ai NTAP precedent shows how a transitional AI payment ends (REG-NTAP-002).
The customer's ability to pay Median calendar-YTD operating margin 2.5% incl. corporate allocations, 8.3% excl., across >1,300 hospitals in April 2026 (CM-KH-01), with the 26–99-bed cohort at −11.5% YTD (CM-KH-05). Expansion depends on a budget line that is first cut in a bad quarter, and a low-band New Technology code does not change that arithmetic at small volumes.
COGS input and capability ceiling The agent layer runs on someone else's models — a variable cost scaling with usage rather than seats, a dependency on third-party roadmaps and pricing, and a strategic exposure: the model providers and NVIDIA are simultaneously suppliers and potential platform competitors. Falling inference prices help; a model provider shipping a healthcare agent framework does not.
Siemens Healthineers, Canon Medical, Philips; PACS/VNA vendors) no scan, no agent Every imaging agent requires a study already acquired on hardware Bunkerhill does not own and routed through a PACS it does not control. These OEMs lead the FDA AI authorisation leaderboard by a wide margin on canon's single basis (GE HealthCare 130, Siemens Healthineers 95, Philips 45, Canon Medical 43 — REG-FDA-018) and can seat comparable analytics at the console.
FDA regulatory posture on adaptive and LLM-mediated clinical agents Bunkerhill's imaging algorithms are locked 510(k)-cleared devices; the broader agent fleet is not obviously the same regulatory object. If FDA tightens its treatment of adaptive or LLM-mediated clinical decision support, a platform selling 'deploy many agents fast' bears a per-agent regulatory cost that directly attacks its expansion economics.
Pre-profit, $25M raised July 2026, $55M cumulative. Recently funded, so near-term financing risk is low; but no cash, burn or runway is disclosed and no post-money exists at any round, so neither the mark nor the runway is observable from outside.
Advantages
- The only company in this cohort owning all four of a cleared algorithm, randomised evidence, a deployment/governance substrate in production, and a self-authored national payment code (HCPCS G0680, CMS-verified, effective 1 Apr 2026)
- Demonstrated in-account expansion — one agent to more than twenty across specialties at UTMB — the compounding revenue shape, as distinct from breadth of logos
- Dated, first-in-class FDA clearances across opportunistic findings: bone density on abdominal CT (10 Apr 2025), mitral annular calcification (8 Oct 2025), contrast-enhanced chest-CT coronary and aortic valve calcium (15 Apr 2026)
- Marquee production references — Cleveland Clinic, Mayo Clinic, Intermountain Health, UTMB Health
- Capital efficiency: $55M cumulative against peers at $700M–$1.06B, reaching a comparable class of customer
- Opportunistic-findings positioning, where ROI accrues to the provider's own collected downstream revenue rather than depending on a payer to fund software — the board's own test for a durable payer
Weaknesses
- No revenue figure exists at any vintage — the only quantity in circulation is a '20x' trade-press ratio with no base and no on-record company attribution
- No pricing model, gross margin or net revenue retention disclosed — unit economics are entirely opaque from outside
- The self-authored code is a service code any competitor with a cleared algorithm can bill, sitting in a low-band New Technology APC CMS treats as transitional
- The randomised evidence is single-site, open-label, small (202 randomised), keyed to a prescribing outcome, null in established ASCVD, and co-authored by the founders as disclosed Bunkerhill employees
- No post-money valuation at any round, so there is no mark, no dilution read and no way to size the company
- $55M cumulative is an order of magnitude or two below Aidoc, Epic, Microsoft, NVIDIA and Commure — Aidoc alone raised $150M in April 2026 and runs at 150+ health systems
Bottlenecks
- Per-health-system integration labour — the Epic/Oracle, PACS and governance work that is simultaneously the product, the moat and the COGS line, and the one number (cost per implementation) that decides whether this is software or services
- Agent-count depth beyond the flagship accounts — 20+ live at UTMB is disclosed; the distribution across the other fourteen systems is not, and the entire expansion thesis rests on it
- Health-system AI governance committees — the approval body gating every new agent, running on clinical-leadership calendars and not accelerating for a vendor's growth plan
- The buyer's budget — a 2.5% median calendar-YTD operating margin (CM-KH-01) caps how much net-new IT spend the market can absorb regardless of the product's merit
- The G0680 rate band — a New Technology APC assignment means the buyer's ROI case rests on volume rather than price, and the price is set by an authority that has already retired one AI payment pathway (REG-NTAP-002)
- Non-excludability of the code Bunkerhill created — every competitor with a cleared CAC algorithm bills the same G0680, so the regulatory work does not convert into pricing power
- Evidence generalisability — the randomised result is single-site, open-label and absent in established ASCVD, so the clinical case outside primary prevention rests on inference rather than on the trial
- No disclosed pricing model, which bottlenecks diligence as much as the business: unit economics, payback and net revenue retention cannot be computed from anything public
Top signals & trends
Top signals
Verified verbatim at CMS primary (Transmittal R13702CP Table 7; MLN MM14380). Driving a national code to establishment is the hardest asset in US medtech and very few clinical-AI companies of any size have done it. Read the APC assignment alongside it — 1492 is a New Technology APC.
The code describes the service, not the vendor. Bunkerhill bore the regulatory cost and the category walks through the gate behind it — the exact non-excludability canon documents for Cleerly and the shared CPT 75577 (PB-039-watchlist-cleerly), now in a second, independent instance.
Verified at NCT05588895 (Stanford-sponsored, randomised parallel open-label, 202 actual enrolment, completed 15 Jan 2026) and the open-access full text (PMC12829528). Randomised evidence is rare in clinical AI. Caveats travel with it: single site, 6,188 screened to 202 randomised, a prescribing outcome, no effect in established ASCVD (29% vs 31%, p-interaction=0.003).
A strong syndicate and a strategic payer-side investor, on a round size that is solid rather than category-defining — Aidoc raised $150M three months earlier. The absence of a disclosed post-money at any round is the material fact.
The most informative traction datum in the announcement, because it evidences in-account expansion rather than logo count. The UTMB Chief AI Officer states 'more than 20'; Fortune reports 22 — carry the range.
A ratio without a denominator. The Next Web and Digital Health Wire both relay the Series B announcement; neither states a dollar figure and neither attributes it to the company on the record. Direction, not magnitude.
The cardiovascular clearance was announced in the same release as the CMS pathway, which is the correct sequencing: clearance plus code is what makes an agent deployable. These are 510(k) CLEARANCES — substantial equivalence — not PMA approvals or De Novo grants, and first-in-class status confers no exclusivity.
New Technology APCs are CMS's transitional ratesetting instrument, and CMS has pre-committed to routing new SaMS analyses into them for CY2027 and beyond (REG-CMS-010). The ~$15.50 rate in circulation is vendor-relayed and unverified at primary here, but the band placement is CMS-verified and is the load-bearing fact.
The same strategy — substrate plus governance plus a cleared clinical portfolio — executed at ten times the capital and ten times the customer count. Aidoc holds 34 FDA authorisations on canon's single basis (REG-FDA-018) against Bunkerhill's reported nine.
Board canon on Epic. The owners of the integration surface are now selling the AI rather than taxing it, at exactly the point every third-party agent platform must pass through — the fact that most constrains a deployment-layer company's terminal value.
Canon CM-KH-01 (Kaufman Hall / Vizient National Hospital Flash Report, April 2026 metrics); the 26–99-bed cohort is at −11.5% YTD (CM-KH-05). This is the buyer, and the board's standing reason to discount every health-system-budget-funded software thesis.
A strategic relationship with the largest US payer-provider organisation and a plausible path to the payer budget the board identifies as durable. No commercial agreement has been disclosed, so treat it as optionality rather than revenue.
Trends
A health system cannot manage forty separate AI vendors, forty contracts and forty monitoring regimes. A substrate standardising integration, governance and monitoring is the natural consolidation point — exactly the category Bunkerhill, Aidoc's aiOS and Microsoft's Nuance Precision Imaging Network are racing to own.
Structurally the most attractive clinical-AI economics available: no new scan, no new order, no new visit, and the downstream value accrues to the provider's own collected revenue. G0680 is CMS formally recognising the category, and NOTIFY-PICTURE is randomised evidence that the notification step actually changes prescribing.
Canon REG-CMS-010, verbatim from CMS-1850-P: 'for CY 2027 and subsequent years, we propose to assign any new SaMS analyses performed on laboratory test codes to new technology APCs'. These APCs are transitional by construction — a rate held by discretion, renewable and retirable at CMS's option. G0680's APC 1492 placement sits inside this regime.
Epic's AI Charting, Penny and Art, and Oracle Health's Clinical AI Agent across 30 specialties, convert the integration surface from a neutral pipe into a competing product. Board canon's framing is exact: Epic is 'not a tollbooth collecting rent from AI vendors; it is a distribution owner that has started selling the AI itself.'
Aidoc's CARE was cleared in January 2026 bringing 11 new plus 3 existing indications into one workflow. If one cleared foundation model covers most of a modality, a portfolio of individually cleared single-finding algorithms becomes a slower, costlier route to the same coverage — and the regulatory moat a specialist built shrinks accordingly.
Median calendar-YTD operating margin 2.5% including allocations in April 2026, 26–99-bed cohort at −11.5% (CM-KH-01 / CM-KH-05). Every health-system-budget-funded software thesis is underwritten by the least able buyer in enterprise software, and this trend has not turned.
Two independent instances now sit in the record: CPT 75577 shared by Cleerly, HeartFlow and Elucid at an identical CMS-set rate (PB-039-watchlist-cleerly / REG-CPT-003), and G0680 immediately available to HeartLung.AI, Coreline Soft and any other cleared CAC vendor. CMS pays for a service and never for a vendor.
Positive for a company selling governance — precisely the gap Carebricks monetises. Negative if regulators respond by making each deployed agent a separately regulated object, converting the expansion engine into a per-agent regulatory cost centre. FDA's posture on adaptive, LLM-mediated clinical agents is unsettled at 7 August 2026.
Ecosystem & competitor graph
Suppliers feed the company; customers pull from it. Line thickness shows the strength of each tie (supply-chain dependency, customer earnings contribution). Hover to isolate a tie.
Frontier LLM providers (Anthropic / OpenAI / Google) The reasoning layer underneath the agents. A usage-scaling variable cost, a dependency on third-party model roadmaps and pricing, and a strategic exposure — the same providers ship healthcare agent frameworks of their own.
GPU compute for imaging inference and agent serving. Canon CF-NVDA-03: supplier to effectively every private health-AI leader, and simultaneously a platform competitor via its clinical AI stack.
HIPAA-eligible hosting, PHI-compliant image transfer and storage, consumed as opex. Azure = MSFT — also a direct competitor through Nuance.
GE HealthCare / Siemens Healthineers / Canon Medical / Philips The CT installed base producing every study Bunkerhill's imaging agents read. Also the FDA AI authorisation leaders on canon's single basis (130 / 95 / 43 / 45 — REG-FDA-018) and credible console-level bundlers of comparable analytics.
Intelerad, Fujifilm, Merative, Nuance PowerScribe) The imaging plumbing an agent must route through to reach the radiologist. Integration surface and, in Nuance's case, a competing deployment marketplace.
Per-agent, per-site validation, monitoring and governance support. The COGS line that does not fall with compute prices and scales with agent count rather than customer count.
Cleveland Clinic, Mayo Clinic, UTMB Health The reference tier. UTMB is the disclosed depth account with 20+ live agents across specialties (company release, 16 Jul 2026; 22 per Fortune) and the primary de-risking asset in every subsequent sale.
Intermountain Health, Sentara Health, Ballad Health, Endeavor Health The volume tier: multi-hospital systems with standardised imaging estates where one integration serves many sites. Also the cohort most exposed to the 2.5% median operating margin (CM-KH-01).
The internal budget owner for imaging agents, and the beneficiary of G0680 billing plus the downstream cardiology, echocardiography and DEXA volume generated by opportunistic findings.
Primary care and preventive-cardiology clinicians The actual recipients of the NOTIFY-PICTURE intervention — notification changed primary-care prescribing, concentrated in patients without established ASCVD. This is where the clinical value proposition is evidenced.
Population-health and value-based-care programmes Opportunistic risk stratification is worth more to an entity bearing risk than to one billing fee-for-service — the natural home for the Optum relationship, and the channel where the payer rather than the provider funds the software.
Private, and the most direct competitor by a distance — the same strategy at ten times the scale. 34 FDA authorisations on canon's single-basis parse (REG-FDA-018, list vintage 2026-06-16); CARE foundation model cleared January 2026 as what it describes as healthcare's first comprehensive foundation-model triage solution, bringing 11 newly cleared plus 3 existing indications into one workflow; delivered through aiOS, its enterprise AI operating system with data normalisation, continuous performance monitoring and built-in governance; $150M raised April 2026; 150+ health systems including Mount Sinai, Yale New Haven and Northwell. Every element of Bunkerhill's positioning has an Aidoc analogue with more capital behind it.
Private, and board canon's 'uninvestable — structurally, on any horizon this board can underwrite'. 43.7% of US acute-care hospitals in 2025, 56.9% of beds, $6.7B of 2025 revenue (company-stated, unaudited), AI Charting GA 4 Feb 2026, Penny at 200+ organisations, Art at 16M uses a month. Owns the integration surface Bunkerhill must traverse and has begun selling the agents itself — the single most constraining competitor on terminal value.
Nuance Precision Imaging Network is the incumbent marketplace-and-deployment layer for imaging AI inside the radiology workflow, distributed through PowerScribe's reporting footprint, with Dragon Copilot as the adjacent wedge (list $369–604 per provider per month, canon CF-MSFT-06; ~33% ambient category share and 100,000+ clinicians daily, CF-MSFT-07).
Private. 12 FDA authorisations on canon's basis (three name spellings are required to find them all — REG-FDA-018). Care-coordination and disease-detection platform positioning overlapping Bunkerhill's clinical-agent surface, and holder of the sector's cautionary reimbursement precedent: ContaCT's NTAP at $1,040 max per case in FY2021, one extension, zero appearances in FY2023 (REG-NTAP-001/002).
Private (General Catalyst). A health-system operating-layer roll-up assembling ambient documentation, RCM, staff workflow and provider operations under one contract, backed by a firm that also owns a health system. Competes for the same 'one platform relationship instead of forty vendors' consolidation budget, with materially more capital and an owned distribution channel.
Private. 17 FDA authorisations on canon's basis. Strong in stroke and vascular care-coordination workflows with deep health-system penetration, expanding from a single clinical pathway toward a broader platform — the same trajectory Bunkerhill is running, from a larger clinical installed base.
Private. 9 FDA authorisations on canon's basis, with an opportunistic-screening and incidental-findings focus (chest, lung nodule, TB) overlapping Bunkerhill's clinical agent catalogue directly. Strong international footprint and a lower-cost delivery model; the closest competitor on the specific opportunistic-findings use case.
Private. Grouped because they matter as one fact rather than three companies: each has publicly welcomed or is marketing against the same G0680 coverage Bunkerhill drove CMS to establish — HeartLung.AI with a welcome statement, Coreline Soft with an insight piece on G0680 unlocking AI CAC revenue from chest CT, Riverain with a G0680 ROI calculator. Living proof that the code is a category asset, not a company asset.
The other EHR. Smaller US acute-care share than Epic but the same structural position — owner of the integration surface, shipping its own Clinical AI Agent (extended to 30 medical specialties in March 2026, with automated drafting of labs, imaging, prescriptions, follow-ups and referrals added in February 2026) and able to make third-party agent platforms a feature rather than a purchase.
Canon CF-NVDA-03 records NVIDIA as genuinely the supplier to every private health-AI leader — the Abridge clinical-conversation foundation model on Nemotron (announced Jun 2026), Mayo pathology models on DGX Blackwell, a reported $1B Eli Lilly partnership. Supplier first, but its clinical AI frameworks and direct health-system partnerships (including at Mayo, a named Bunkerhill customer) make it a platform competitor in the same accounts.